About the Northwest Georgia System of Care (NW GA SOC)

The NW GA SOC Regional Council’s membership is a diverse body of representatives comprised of judicial leadership, child-serving agencies, parents, caregivers, youth, regional and community leaders. These members are guided by the idea that no one organization is responsible for children’s mental health needs nor can any single organization resolve the needs.

The NW GA SOC includes representatives of the following counties:
Bartow, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Dade, Douglas, Fannin, Floyd, Gilmer, Gordon, Haralson, Murray, Paulding, Pickens, Polk, Walker, and Whitfield. These counties are arranged into eight Sub-regional Councils, which are represented by color on the map shown.

The NW GA SOC Regional Council meets three times a year. In addition, the NW GA SOC Advisory Council, which coordinates all SOC activities across the region, meets monthly. Sub-regional Councils also meet monthly or bi-monthly to develop strategies to meet the needs of families in their communities.


Our vision is that all children (up to age 21) and caregivers in the Northwest Georgia 17-county region have access to timely and appropriate interventions and supports that help children function normally in their families and in their communities.


To create a family driven, youth guided, and culturally competent system of mental health interventions and supports organized into a comprehensive and integrated network to meet the multiple and changing needs of children and their families.
Please click one of the links below to learn more: